PDA

View Full Version : NEWBIE QUESTION: HOW DO I INSTALL APPS IN KNOPPIX 3.4?

prodmaster
05-08-2004, 05:05 AM
I am a newbie to this Knoppix thing so please bear with me. If the answer is in faq section please point me to it. I have downloaded files with .rpm and .tar.gz ,could you guys please please explain to me how I installl programs with these extensions in Knoppix.
Your help will be greatly appreciated. :) :)

firebyrd10
05-08-2004, 05:10 AM
well being a live cd distro you can't really install anything unless the only files are in your home directory. As for installing files (asuming you can) knoppix is a debian based distro and there for uses .deb files rather then rpms. how ever 3.4 does come with alien which changes rpms into .deb files.

oh and .tar.gz is a compressed file. Like a .zip file

for the most part files that are just compressed you can install to the home directory. files with .deb usually have to be installed else where and there for can't be installed intill you install knoppix to your hardrive.

Craig2
05-08-2004, 09:03 AM
Go to -> K (start button on left side of menu) -> KNOPPIX -> utilities ->Install software (while running from cd).

After you select "install software..." a script written by probono (thanks probono!) will allow you to select from a handful of applications that can be installed in your home directory.

A while back, while probono was working on it, there seemed to be quite a few more scripts available than the few that present themselves in 3.4 I don't know if they are still available or usable, or not, because the installer tool is new to 3.4 He issued a request for help in more scripts for more programs (I'd help if I could) and more scripts, but I don't think anyone, or few people chipped in any help. That may have something to do with it.