PDA

View Full Version : Would like to install Nvidia drivers in 2.6.5

MillTek
05-08-2004, 02:43 PM
Hi,
First, I am very new to linux but Knoppix looks great!

I downloaded the CD and did a HD install 2.6.5. I have a video card that is Nvidia GEforce FX 5200 and would like to install the proper drivers for it. It also has two monitor heads that allow NVidia twinview to run.

Can someone please supply fairly straightforward instructions on how to do this.

I have searched through the forum but all the NVidia instructions seem to relate to previous kernels or before Nvidia started issuing the '.run' package.

Thanks
Jim :lol:

blockme
05-12-2004, 07:26 AM
hiho

i installed knoppix 3.3 and upgraded my kernel to 2.6.5 manually. (hopefully going to install knoppix 3.4 this evening).

when i installed my nvidia drivers (i got the same card) i was using the installing instructions from nvidia (download drivers -> geforce -> linux ia32), download NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5336-pkg1.run and run it like described. it will guide you through the install process. when i ran this script it said that there is no precompiled module for this version of the kernel and downloaded some additional files from the internet.
after this i got the nice NVIDIA logo when starting X.

so it works fine for me.

MillTek
05-12-2004, 01:45 PM
Hi Blockme,

Please let me know how the upgrade to 3.4 works out.

Thanks,
Jim

Linuxshark
05-14-2004, 02:01 PM
I just tried to install the Nvidia driver, yet without success. My specs are

- Knoppix 3.4 HDD install (the first "official" 3.4 version that came out, not sure about the date), standard boot set to 2.6 (in fact my kernel is what came with Knoppix 3.4 plus all apt-get available kernel-updates).

- I downloaded the aforementioned Nvidia .run package

- left X (by typing "init 3" in a root console, it took me a while to find out how to leave X :oops:)