PDA

View Full Version : Problem

Hatem
03-04-2003, 02:01 AM
Hey,

I'll start off by saying I'm a complete newbie when it comes to linux. I just tried Knoppix on my Intel P4 2ghz 512ddr ram box, and I encountered some problems.

After pressing enter at the boot prompt, I got a message saying "Error: only one proccessor detected." Then it said something like "Pci Device not detected because of resourse collisions." Right before the gui loaded the screen flashed a couple of times (I don't know if this is normal...).

KDE loaded up fine, but there was no sound and I couldn't connect to the internet. I have a wireless network set up but this computer is the one connected to the modem so I don't think that is the problem.

My ethernet card is Realtek RTL8139 FAMILY PCI FAST ETHERNET NIC, and my sound card is Intel 82801DB/DBM/DA AC'97 Audio Controller.

Thanks in advance,

Hatem

mmaki
03-04-2003, 03:20 AM
I can only answer one of your questions. I believe the latest KNOPPIX is using an smp kernel and it's looking for a 2nd cpu, thus the

"Error: only one proccessor detected." Shouldn't be a problem.

In the few months I've been watching these forums it seems to me audio is the most difficult resource to get working properly.

Good Luck!

Hatem
03-04-2003, 03:31 AM
Thanks for your reply,

I noticed something else, that I had forgetton to include in my message. After I press enter at the boot prompt it says:

"You have passed an undefined mode number
Press <RETURN> to view all video modes, <SPACE> to continue, or wait 30 secs"

I have no idea what this means...

I tried directly connecting the cable modem to my computer but it froze while booting while it was "Autoconfiguring devices"...

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated,

Hatem

aay
03-04-2003, 04:34 AM
....After pressing enter at the boot prompt, I got a message saying "Error: only one proccessor detected." ....
Hatem

Try 'knoppix nosmp' at boot.

god
03-04-2003, 04:35 AM
Thanks for your reply,