PDA

View Full Version : Weird cursor on Sony Vaio XG18

KlausRSchambeck
03-04-2003, 08:14 AM
Hi There !!!

I'm a bit new to unix. I propgrammed a CD with V3.1-2003-01-01-EN.

It seems to work fine on my desktop (pentium III on generic motherboard)

However, when I try to boot on my laptop, a Sony Vaio XG18 (pentium III and 256Mb) I get a weird cursor (square and looks like a picket fence)

I have tried the knoppix pci=irqmask=0x0e98, with the result of having no mouse and cursor.

Please is anyone out there with a similar notebook who solved this problem or any other ideas ???

Very much appreciated, KLAUS

I'm taking a LINUX admin class at the time and hopefully I will be able to understand a bit more in a few weeks.

RockMumbles
03-04-2003, 08:59 AM
What video chipset does your laptop have?

Some video cards need to have an option set for the cursor. Look at your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file and look for this section:
Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
# sw_cursor is needed for some ati and radeon cards
#Option "sw_cursor"
#Option "hw_cursor"
#Option "NoAccel"
#Option "ShowCache"
#Option "ShadowFB"
#Option "UseFBDev"
#Option "Rotate"
Identifier "Card0"
you might want to edit the file to allow: " Option "sw_cursor" " by removing the # in the front of that line.

What you'll need to do is start up in console mode ' knoppix 2 ' make the changes to the file (nano is pretty easy to use) and then change to user knoppix, by : " su knoppix " and then start X with: " startx "

HTH

rock

KlausRSchambeck
03-04-2003, 09:26 PM
Hi There !!!

Yes, it seems the "sw_cursor" has worked, I have not done extensive testing yet.

The graphics chipset is a NeoMagic MagicMedia 256XL+

I was wondering if there is a command line switch, which can be used at boot prompt, which does the same thing without the editing of the file.

Also, if I want to switch back to root as of "su root" I dont know the password, a <cr> alone doesn't seem to work ???