PDA

View Full Version : Running from CD changing swap file

kck
05-11-2004, 12:04 PM
I"m still running off the cd until I can work out a few small issues but until then I had a little question regarding the swap file.

While in XP I created a linux swap partition on a spare drive hdb3 however it doesn't seem to be being used when I boot into the cd. It's 1.2G created with Acronis.

The questions are I guess:

Can I use it? and if so, how to set it up
and can I do it from the boot screen?

In case it wasn't totally obvious, I'm still very new at this but am dying to learn. I've tried searching for swap files, etc but most seem to deal with a hd install. Thanks for any input.

KCK

Cuddles
05-11-2004, 02:22 PM
Kck,

From what I know...

The swap file, using the CD, is just that, a file. It is created while you are booted to the CD, and can be created on a DOS, or FAT, partition.

Once Knoppix is booted, goto KMenu -=> Knoppix -=> Configure ( I think ), and look for Create Swap File, or Configure Swap File...

Running this, if I remember right, it will ask you which device you want to create the swap file on, this device should be the FAT, or DOS, partition, once selecting your device, it should tell you how much space it has available [?], and how large a swap file you want to create on that device.

Knoppix should create a "file" on that device, just off the root of the drive, and name it something that has "knoppix" in the name, not sure, but I think the file name is "knoppix.swp" [?]

To activate, and use, the swap file from within Knoppix, you will want to add the following to your boot: prompt:

boot: knoppix swap=[device]
or
boot: knoppix swap=scan

You should see it activate the swap file while Knoppix is boot, it will say something like: found swap on [...] activating, or found swap ... using (something like this)