PDA

View Full Version : Recovering NTFS partition (Newbie)

Davidsa
05-13-2004, 10:24 PM
I want to recover some data from a corrupted NTFS partition which has Windows XP Pro (among other things) installed on it.

Knoppix/Konquerer "sees" only a FAT (plain FAT, not FAT32) partition on the disk which I imagine is the XP recovery consol. I do not need to preserve this partition or the files in it.

How do I make Knoppix "see" the NTFS partition?

I realize Knoppix won't write to an NTFS partition. I have another, working hard disk formatted FAT32 with enough space to take the data I need to recover.

Many thanks in advance for suggestions. I have no previous experience of Linux/Knoppix.

David

mzilikazi
05-13-2004, 11:15 PM
Well I have no idea about Konqueror but I would personally just do this:

fdisk -l /dev/hda

OR

fdisk -l /dev/hdb

or where ever your drive is. Then, you *should* be able to mount it.

mount /dev/hda2 /mnt/hda2

If /mnt/hda2 doesn't exist simply mount it somewhere else. Anywhere will do.

j.drake
05-14-2004, 02:23 AM
I want to recover some data from a corrupted NTFS partition which has Windows XP Pro (among other things) installed on it.

Knoppix/Konquerer "sees" only a FAT (plain FAT, not FAT32) partition on the disk which I imagine is the XP recovery consol. I do not need to preserve this partition or the files in it.

I realize Knoppix won't write to an NTFS partition. I have another, working hard disk formatted FAT32 with enough space to take the data I need to recover.

Many thanks in advance for suggestions. I have no previous experience of Linux/Knoppix.

David

By any chance, are you using a program called GoBack?

http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=21961#21961

user unknown
05-14-2004, 06:44 AM

If /mnt/hda2 doesn't exist, call

mkdir /mnt/hda2

mounting it just somewhere will hide that folder, so mounting to /bin will perhaps do, but then you are caught, because 'umount' is hidden (and a lot of importants programs too).