PDA

View Full Version : Yep. Another HD Install question. HELP!!!

knoppix-newbie
05-18-2004, 10:56 PM
I am a complete newbie to the Linux realm. I have toyed around with several distros but found Knoppix 3.3 to be the most appealing with ease of use in the GUI. I want to install Knoppix on my HD (like 8 billion other posts here) , but when I run "sudo knoppix-installer" from the shell and the script comes up, what the heck do I do? The tutorials and posts I've read say to follow the instructions, but they dont look like instructions. It just looks like a dictionary for what the commands/options do. Can somebody help or at least direct me where to find a COMPLETE walkthrough "from start to finish" of how to do a complete install. Please keep in mind, I have no knowledge of anything other than the GUI. I'm sick and tired of Windowz and I'm desperate to get the real deal on my HD..... KNOPPIX BABY!!! Please help me fix this so I can say goodbye to Windowz FOREVER!!!

Thanks for any info ya'll can provide.

A. Jorge Garcia
05-18-2004, 11:19 PM
If you're going for a dual boot, I'd run QTParted first. Then I run knoppix-installer. I run both from a root shell you get from the KNOPPIX menu.

Good Luck,
AJG

Rink
05-18-2004, 11:27 PM
Mate,

First of all, welcome to the world of Linux.

It's not always easy, sometimes it is frustrating, but, in my experience, it is always rewarding if you stick with it.

After you type 'sudo knoppix-installer' you get a couple of screens. Press 'Return' untill you are shown a list of your hard drive(s). This will have a description of the drive and some letters, something like 'hda' or 'hdb' with an empty pair of brackets in front. Use the space bar to toggle the selected hard drive. Use the 'up' 'down' keys to move between the drives (if you have more than one).

Press 'return' and this will take you to a programme called 'cfdisk'.

This is similar to the DOS fdisk.