PDA

View Full Version : Kernal panic error -- won't boot! Please help..

ChillyWilly
05-21-2004, 04:44 AM
I'm a complete newb to both linux & knoppix, but after playing around with Linspire for a while I realized that knoppix was a much better choice. I found out that the old installer script was unavailable, so I followed directions from some post to knx-hdinstall from debian.tu-bs.de.

After I ran the script (after choosing to format over my old Linspire partitions), I got no error messages, but when I actually try to boot into Linux I get a host of woes. I tried both the "Beginner" and "Debian" installation modes, with different messages but same results.

With the "Beginner" one I get just half a screen of error messages, but the one that counts (probably) is this:

initrd-tools: 0.1.67
mount: fs type devfs not supported by kernal

then finally

Kernal panic: Attempted to kill init!

And that's that--nothing more happens. When I run the "Debian" installer, I get pages upon pages of error messages, but finally ends up the same way with the same error messages that stop the process.

HELP! I had absolutely no problems running Knoppix off the CD, loved it, and all I want is a hd install. What could possibly be the problem here??? Please help!

ChillyWilly
05-21-2004, 04:51 AM
CORRECTION: I ran "knoppix-installer", apparently, and not "knx-hdinstall". Basically, I ran the latest script as fetched by the " knoppix-installer-latest-web" script on http://debian.tu-bs.de/knoppix/installer

jdtommy
05-21-2004, 04:02 PM
What type of Hard Drive do you have?

ChillyWilly
05-22-2004, 02:02 AM
It's an IDE laptop drive--here are the specs from System Info (WindowsXP):

Description Disk drive
Manufacturer (Standard disk drives)
Model TOSHIBA MK3018GAS
Bytes/Sector 512
Media Loaded Yes
Media Type Fixed hard disk
Partitions 3
SCSI Bus 0
SCSI Logical Unit 0
SCSI Port 0
SCSI Target ID 0
Sectors/Track 63
Size 27.95 GB (30,005,821,440 bytes)
Total Cylinders 3,648