PDA

View Full Version : KMail Security (OpenPGP) Help - Please...

Cuddles
05-21-2004, 05:07 PM
Ok, I am not a noob, but in some areas, I am still learning, so I won't say I am a noobie on this... (but I am) [giggle]

I keep getting email (through KMail) that shows the following:

Message was signed with unknown key.
The validity of the signature cannot be verified.
Problem: OpenPGP plug-in was not specified.
Use the 'Settings->Configure KMail->Security' dialog to specify the
plug-in or ask your system administrator to do that for you.

Ouch! That hurts! I am the system administrator!

Ok, I tried to do what it said, and got completely lost doing it, I set it to something, I thought would get it working, and the next email I got, it came out with the same error -=- So, I'm missing something, or not doing something...

Way back, when I first started getting these things, I tried to set what it wanted, and then gave up, thinking it was only "foof" or "fluff" as far as the workings of email, but, with the growing concerns of email security, I'd really like this to be working.

Has anyone got the above working? And how can I get it working?
Ms. Cuddles

Stephen
05-22-2004, 03:45 AM
Add this to your sources.list.

# Project Aegypten Debs GPG Kmail Plugin #
deb http://ma2geo.mathematik.uni-karlsruhe.de/public-debian binary/
deb http://ma2geo.mathematik.uni-karlsruhe.de/public-debian testing/
deb-src http://ma2geo.mathematik.uni-karlsruhe.de/public-debian binary/
deb-src http://ma2geo.mathematik.uni-karlsruhe.de/public-debian testing/

Then apt-get update and apt-get install newpg libgpgme6 libksba0 cryptplug pinentry-common pinentry-qt should get you everything you need. Then you can go into the Settings -> Configure Kmail -> Security -> Crypto Plugins tab and add the /usr/lib/cryptplug/gpgme-openpgp.so in the location and name it OpenGPG and apply the changes, the warning should now go away and you will get a different message like this when the email is signed.