PDA

View Full Version : in to deep

Liquidant
05-22-2004, 12:14 AM
ok so i'm new to linux....... ok so i want it do work straight away............ ok I've learnt that it aint gonna happen. just a couple of points i put to myself today while trying to work everything out at once.
why did i choose this OS?
answer: easy i got sick of windows or windoze I'm more orientated to the the later why beacuse it's so damn user and un user friendly. Why did i choose knoppix the challenge i guess. I consider myself an expert in computing or my friends do but when i look it's seems i know less than 1% of whats going on so i guess it's an easy question or maybe not (pesemist or optamist) oh excuse the spelling i fell asleep in engilsh.

I'll tell you a story about my dream job.
For years, and I'm talkin 25 +, i wanted to drive trucks. I'd go to truck show go to work with my old man anything to get out on the black top and be free. I finally got there and you know what i noticed???????? i was never more than 3 feet from my computer. sad yes..... addicted yes..... courious..................... every second.

so what am i getting at.......... knowledge ( i want it you want it we want it)

I've read the FAQ's i've read the posts in the forum but it's all bit here bit there. No doubt in a few weeks time i'll be askin the same questions posted here. No doubt I'll be trying to find out the password for root cause it won't let me modify files.... no doubt i'll wanna know how to get my alcatel speedtouch connected to the net... what i really want to know is where should i start???????????? at the moment it seems to be get it booted up then stop.
go to the middle then stop.
start again then stop
( i guess you get the picture)

so i guess there is no Knoppix for dummies?

or teach yourself Knoppix in 24 hours.

but where do i start when i've never seen anything like this before????