PDA

View Full Version : Booting Knoppix from HDD

James
03-06-2003, 05:53 PM
Hi all,

I'm a Linux newbie, I recently got my hands on Knoppix 3.1, hoping to use it on my fathers laptop, that way I could show him Linux and not have to 'do anything' to his current M$ install. However it's not the newest laptop and you have to replace the floppy drive with the CD drive, AND it can't boot from the CD Drive (drive doesn't support it). So I can't boot from floppy and have a CD drive, and can't boot from a CD. :cry:

I wonder would it be possible to install some sort of boot loader to allow
him to load M$ as normal but also to make some small bootable partition with the Knoppix floppy image on. It's a bit far from not 'doing anything' to his laptop but would be nice to get it on there, this is only idea I've got and no real idea how to do it. :?

Any ideas or help appreciated.

James

Robert Michel
03-06-2003, 07:00 PM
Salve James

I wonder would it be possible to install some sort of boot loader to allow him to load M$ as normal but also to make some small bootable partition with the Knoppix floppy image on.

What Windows is on that laptop? Win9x can switch to DOS-Modus.
With loadlin must it possible to boot Knoppix from CD.
You must copy the content of the Knoppix-bootdisk in one directory
.... just my ideas, but I'm using M$ since over 2 years,
not shure how to make it exactly.

But your problem is a very interesting one - it must be posible to
solve it and it must be part of the Knoppix-HowTo (still to be written)

Hope that some of the M$ users can help you about your problem.
Greetings
rob

rickenbacherus
03-06-2003, 10:30 PM
I take it the drives are not hot swappable. - bummer!