PDA

View Full Version : Please Please help

Tom0203
05-27-2004, 12:51 AM
hi people i am new to linux and i have tryed installing Knoppix but it wont work i downloded it of www.linuxiso.org and installed it on cd as iso file with nero and then restared my computer as it said and it loded back into windows xp

i have check it with the MD5 and it works fine

would someone please tell me what i am doing wrong
please

Thanks in advance

user unknown
05-27-2004, 02:57 AM
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

j.drake
05-27-2004, 03:15 AM
Be nice, UU, it was his first post.

The biggest mistake people make is in assuming that it's like making a data disk. It's not. You don't drag and drop and then burn. If you installed nero correctly, you should be able to simply double-click the ISO file you downloaded, which will then launch Nero and ask you if you want to burn. You tell it yes (the steps aren't literal here, I don't have it in front of me). Somewhere along the line it will tell you that you have to close the file to additinonal writing for it to fit - that's OK, do it. Soon you will have a bootable disk. Make sure that your BIOS is set to boot from CD. From my experience, I recommend CD-R instead of RW, and it needs to be one of the 80min/700MB ones.

BTW, UU helped you in a way. It really does help if you can condense your question and give detailed facts. People here are generally quite willing to help, and if it's an interesting question that you've researched already (i.e., make sure you've read the FAQs and done a site search and looked in the documentation first) people will be amazingly patient and spend an incredible amount of their time. I'm not even sure if I've addressed your question, because I don't know the details.

HTH
JD

Cuddles
05-27-2004, 02:32 PM
Tom,