PDA

View Full Version : How to play DVDs with hard drive install?

tonylmiller
05-29-2004, 12:07 AM
I'm using KDE 3.2.2. It is a recent download and install, so I guess it is up to date. I'm a newbie and I don't know how to tell what version of knoppix that I have. . .

Anyway, could someone tell me how to play a DVD movie? I love this OS, but I haven't yet figured out how to play a DVD. I know how to type commands into the Konsole, but that's about it. . .

Thanks in advance,

Tony

PROhan
05-29-2004, 02:50 AM
click on the big K> then go to multimedia > Xine

Im pretty sure that should play DVDs
this is one of thos ethings that you could have googled really easily and i dont want to sound mean or discouraging, but just look it up next time if you can :)

tonylmiller
05-29-2004, 04:17 PM

this is one of thos ethings that you could have googled really easily and i dont want to sound mean or discouraging, but just look it up next time if you can :)

I appreciate your kindness. That was the first thing I tried. I guess I should have been more specific. The error I get is a popup window with the following:

(Error reading NAV packet)

The name of the DVD movie does show up in the player.

The xine site says:

To get DVD playback working, first make sure you have a symlink /dev/dvd pointing to your DVD device on your system. For example, if your DVD drive is the master ide drive on the second IDE channel, /dev/dvd should point to /dev/hdc.

Unfortunately, I have no idea how to do this. Or if this will fix my problem. The error that I get is not listed on their FAQ.

Thanks!

ronin77
05-29-2004, 04:24 PM

I appreciate your kindness. That was the first thing I tried. I guess I should have been more specific. The error I get is a popup window with the following:

(Error reading NAV packet)

The name of the DVD movie does show up in the player.

The xine site says: