PDA

View Full Version : General networking issues

spartn119
06-03-2004, 04:43 PM
Like many in this foru8m, im a newb that is in need of help. Basically, i don't know where to start in order to get Knoppix connected to the internet. I connect through a router (ethernet - not wireless). I loaded a couple modules in knoppix that i thought were for my card, but that didn't do anything. Does anyone know of a general newb guide for connecting? I have no idea where to start. and the configuration utilities that came with knoppix have yet to do anything for me.

spartn119
06-03-2004, 08:11 PM
Ok, at this point there have been 21 views and no replies, so maybe im not providing enough information. When i type "sudo netcardconfig" into the terminal, it doesn't do anything but tell me that it timed out while doing somehting with PADO packets..i think. I installed the drivers for my card when i used the PPPoE set-up, but it still doesn't work! What do i do? What more information do i need to provide?

Harry Kuhman
06-03-2004, 10:22 PM
Ok, at this point there have been 21 views and no replies, so maybe im not providing enough information. ..... I installed the drivers for my card when i used the PPPoE set-up, but it still doesn't work! What do i do? What more information do i need to provide?

You're sure not providing enough information.

You say you are using a router, but then you say you used the PPPoE setup. Why would you do that? Doesn't the router deal with the PPPoE for you? You shouldn't have to use PPPoE at all. And to rule out it being a PPPoE issue at all, can you talk to other local computers on the router or even the router itself? No PPPoE involved there at all.