PDA

View Full Version : orinoco_usb for w200 multiport.

gnough
06-04-2004, 09:15 PM
Hi.
I installed Knoppix on my compaq evo n1015v, and I'm trying to get w200 working.
According to http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=6517 and http://knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=45306, and from other sources on the Web, I have to install orinoco_usb driver to get w200 working.
Since the newest orinoco driver doesn't include usb driver (http://www.nongnu.org/orinoco/), I downloaded two old versions from http://alioth.debian.org/project/showfiles.php?group_id=1245 and http://ranty.pantax.net/~rrey/orinoco-usb/orinoco-usb-0.3.0-rrey4.tar.bz2. (the latter one is found on gentoo forum http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=94959&highlight=w200&sid=eb0f42cb3f63235fd1482dcf9b842473).
And I'm new to linux.
I untarred both 0.2.2 and 0.3.0 in /usr/src. So, I have two orinoco driver directories under /usr/src.
And I go into 0.2.2 directory. I read README file and do the following:

/usr/src/orinoco-usb-0.2.2$ make KERNEL_SRC=/usr/src/linux
make -C driver
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/orinoco-usb-0.2.2/driver'
mkdir -p .tmp_versions
cp /usr/src/linux/.tmp_versions/*.mod /usr/src/orinoco-usb-0.2.2/driver/.tmp_versions
cp: cannot stat `/usr/src/linux/.tmp_versions/*.mod': No such file or directory
make[1]: [modules] Error 1 (ignored)
make -C /usr/src/linux SUBDIRS=/usr/src/orinoco-usb-0.2.2/driver MODVERDIR=/usr/src/orinoco-usb-0.2.2/driver/.tmp_versions modules
make[2]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.4.26'
make[2]: *** No rule to make target `modules'. Stop.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.4.26'
make[1]: *** [modules] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/orinoco-usb-0.2.2/driver'
make: *** [all] Error 2
Could you explain the above error message?
Similar messege appears when I do make KERNEL_SRC=/usr/src/linux in 0.3.0 directory.

/usr/src/orinoco-usb-0.3.0-rrey4$ make KERNEL_SRC=/usr/src/linux
make -C driver