PDA

View Full Version : Best Version of Linux for Me

SpankySTD
06-14-2004, 06:34 AM
i am new to linux and i want the power on my laptop, its a gateway 400SD4, its my baby. what OS should i buy?
and could you list each OS i might want and why maybe?
and im curious about Slackware, any good?
im gonna buy one tonight, so your opinion would make many thanks.

Spanky

SpankySTD
06-14-2004, 06:53 AM
im downloading Slackware ISO two files, anyone has an opinion if i should go with this? seems pretty interesting..

j.drake
06-14-2004, 07:01 AM
i am new to linux and i want the power on my laptop, its a gateway 400SD4, its my baby. what OS should i buy?
and could you list each OS i might want and why maybe?
and im curious about Slackware, any good?
im gonna buy one tonight, so your opinion would make many thanks.

Spanky

Lordy, you are new if you're buying linux!! :wink: You know what most folks here will recommend, and it's free.

SpankySTD
06-14-2004, 07:07 AM
hehe im downloading a few now from www.linuxiso.org , very nice site.

i have knoppix and std, bought them because i support the cause and was a way to make a nice donation :-p

but since im new, does anyone disagree with my putting slackware on my lappy? and is slackware like any other linux? theres so many, whats the diff in them!!! help! lol

knoppix is nice to snag stuff from my HD if its passwd'd, but it dosnt catch my eye....

eco2geek
06-14-2004, 08:30 AM
Nobody here's going to "disagree" with you putting Slackware on your laptop! :) Good luck! It's supposed to be a really stable distro, and it's been around a long time.

A lot of it depends on how comfortable you are asking and searching for answers on various Linux forums, on the Web, and on Usenet, really. For some people (including myself), having a book handy beats having to rely on the Net for answers.