PDA

View Full Version : Trying to Install Knoppix 3.4 on a Dell Poweredge 1750

Elkabong
06-15-2004, 06:13 AM
Hello All,

I am a newbie to both Linux but was recommended to this site by a friend who said that I can use Knoppix to install Debian (Sarge).

My problem is that I am trying to install Knoppix to the HDD without any success.

My Dell has 2 x 36GB SCSI Drives with RAID I (MegaRaid Card)
Broadcom NIC

Has anyone got a custom ISO that I can download or point me in the right direction?

Thanks very much

El Kabong

schrippe
06-15-2004, 10:51 AM
when you boot the knoppix cd: what ist the error message? Or is it possible to boot and you aren't able to install?

Elkabong
06-15-2004, 11:02 AM
Hello Schrippe,

Thanks for your reply.

I am able to Boot from the Knoppix CD and Install to HDD. However, after the installation I reboot the machine and gives an "Kernel Panic" error

regards

El Kabong

schrippe
06-15-2004, 11:51 AM
shit,

so kernel panic: unable to mount fs message?

when yes you must enable in the /etc/mkinitrd/modules the megaraid driver, only edit with vi and fill the line megaraid in the file.

before, you must start from cd and mount the sda1 (i think) to /mnt
"mount /dev/sda /mnt "

then make a "chroot /mnt /bin/bash" and look in the /etc/lilo.conf to see, what initrd image is used in the default section.
then you must "mkinitrd -o /boot/imagename" and "lilo" and then an reboot.

Elkabong
06-15-2004, 07:07 PM
Hello again,

I will try your suggestion tomorrow but when I reboot from HDD the installation does not recognise my:

MegaRaid SCSI or my Broadcom NIC. I get the error after MODPROBE failure or something like that.

I really wish there was some kind of Knoppix iso for the Dell Poweredge that I could download.

Thanx again

El Kabong

PROhan
06-17-2004, 08:00 AM
hmm.. it should recognize the broadcom network dealio (im on it right now actually)... I am using Kanotix which is the samething as Knoppix so there shouldnt be a problem..