PDA

View Full Version : A bit of general trouble

TheOddLinguist
06-25-2004, 12:53 AM
Hello, everyone. I'm pretty new to Linux, so I thought I'd give Knoppix a try.

I'm a having a bit of trouble, but I'm afraid that my inexperience will make it hard to describe my problem. If anybody could give me any advice, I'd appreciate it immensely.

When I boot from the CD, it starts loading, says that it "can't find a KNOPPIX filesystem," and gives me a DOS-esque command prompt-looking deal.

I tried a "failsafe" boot, which loads the OS, but when it's finished loading, it appears messed up. It's flickering and illegible. I apologize for my scarce description; the best way I can describe it is like trying to watch a PAL video on an NTSC system. Once again, I'm sorry. But, if anyone can help me, I'd be very grateful. I can't wait to give Linux a try. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Christopher David YUDICHAK

A. Jorge Garcia
06-25-2004, 01:40 AM
The Care and Feading of Linux Coasters

Sounds like a bad CD burn. Get used to 'em until you get the hang of burning bootable ISOs! This creature you've made is so infamous that it has a name: Linux Coaster. Linux Coasters are great at parties. Just lay them out at random intervals, don't worry you'll soon have many of them, so people can rest their drinks on them and not mess up your furniture....

But seriously, it does sound like a bad burn. Please describe how you burnt your CD.

Regards,
AJG

TheOddLinguist
06-25-2004, 01:49 AM
I downloaded the ISO, which was about 686MB, and saved it to the hard drive.

Then, I used the programme which came with my burner to burn the ISO to the disk. It had an option labeled "Burn ISO." It burned at 16x and took about 5.5 minutes. The filesizes matched.