PDA

View Full Version : Linux Newbie, new to forum -need help, re. HD install

scruffyeagle
06-29-2004, 11:26 PM
Hi!

I'm new to Linux, and new to this forum. I've read around eighty messages on the forum, so far, and haven't found what I need - so, I'm seeking some assistance via feedback from more knowledgeable people (just about anybody & everybody else in the entire Linux community).

My copy of Knoppix is a CD I purchased from XPLinux.biz. It seemed to be the most up-to-date of what I saw offered, so I bought it. Downloading via a 26K internet connection isn't an option. Higher rates than 28K aren't available from here in the middle of the great north woods, unless you go to satellite. I can't afford such. I accept the 26K because intergate.com cost only half as much as any other options that ae available - and, the news service is top-notch via their contract w/ Supernews. Anyway, my Knoppix CD allows choice of boot using v2.4 or 2.6 kernels.

I've picked up, that to do a HD install of Knoppix, you need to run a script; either "knx-install" or "knoppixinstall". Problem is, I don't find any such files on my Knoppix CD, whether inspecting directories using Linux or Windows. Using Ctrl-Alt-F1 to get a console from within Linux desktop, then typing in either script name returns a file not found error message.

I discovered & bookmarked the page where Knoppix installer scripts may be obtained ( http://debian.tu-bs.de/knoppix/installer/ ), but it seems that the only way to get these is if you've got all your ducks in a row, re. Linux usage of internet functions; i.e. a fully functioning Linux setup could easily get them - but, a newbie who only get at the internet via Windows (so far)? Doesn't seem like it would work.

So, I guess I'll finish with this inquiry:

How can I find or obtain the script(s) needed to do a HD install of KNoppix?

Thanks in advance, for any help you can give me with this.

fingers99
06-30-2004, 01:58 AM