PDA

View Full Version : No internet/WAN connectivity; I'm clueless

Berserkier
06-30-2004, 10:51 PM
I just got Knoppix last night. I've never used any form of Unix or Linux before.

I need to know how to hook up to my cable internet account via my wireless hub. I use a Linksys hub and USB antenna, a Dell Dimension L667r, and my cable internet is through Earthlink. I'm not sure if the changes I need to make should be to the OS or to the browser. Any suggestions would be welcome.

Thanks.

Harry Kuhman
07-01-2004, 05:50 AM
I need to know how to hook up to my cable internet account via my wireless hub. I use a Linksys hub and USB antenna,...Any suggestions would be welcome.

Suggestion:
jack your Dell into the Linksys with a cat-5 cable and see if that works. If it does then you know you can focus your efforts on the wireless connection (which is where I expect the problems are). However, if the wired connecton doesn't work then you'll need to resolve any issues therebefore you have a chance to resolve the wireless issues.

I can't help you with the wireless stuff (never got the wireless suff working on my notebook with a pcmcia card), but I can help if you still have problems when accessing without the wireless issues.

If ithe usb wireless device is the problem you'll need to post back exactly what model the devce is before anyone can tell you if there is Linux support for it.

Berserkier
07-01-2004, 03:23 PM
Don't I have to configure my user name and password somewhere?

Harry Kuhman
07-01-2004, 08:57 PM
Don't I have to configure my user name and password somewhere?