PDA

View Full Version : Installing programs on knoppix...

xaviers2002
07-06-2004, 11:46 PM
Hello, I am new to knoppix and debian, can anybody tell me how the installation of programs works on knoppix... sorry debian?
Thanks

DuckDodgers
07-07-2004, 02:32 AM
For now, take a look at http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/InstallSoftwareHowTo?action=BackLinks

You may also want to look at Kpackage from the System menu. Also, you can investigate apt-get and dpkg utilizing the search box atop this page. Other areas of interest would be synaptics and apt-spy. You may also want to familiarize yourself with /etc/sources.list.

xaviers2002
07-07-2004, 07:39 PM
Ok, I have installed KLIK and also AMULE, just to try it. Now what I have to do if I want to open them? I am completely new to linux... w$ has icons on the desktop and "programs" from start. How does it work on debian?
Thanks.

j.drake
07-07-2004, 09:30 PM
Are you running live-CD or HD install?

What version and kernel of Knoppix?

If HD install, Knoppix-style? Beginner's? Debian style?

If older version, full install or poor man's?