PDA

View Full Version : Help with install... grub.

xlr8r
07-08-2004, 09:08 AM
Hey guys. i am a newbie to linux and after looking around i felt that knoppix would be a good way to go, so i used the live cd and decided i liked and i would install on my old pc to muck around and experiment with.

The pc is a 700mhz athlon processor, 4gig HD(3gig partitioned for knoppix, 1 gig for swap) and a second HD with 1 gig free. 128mb ram.

I looked into it and decided that the debian install was probably the best way as i read that begginer is pretty much like the live cd. Well it took a while to get this going, at first the install worked but when i booted my pc nothing loaded after checking the CDROM.

I reformatted the partitions and started again, Debian install and lilo on the boot manager (MBR?)....setup completed succesfully, knoppix installed on HD. I turn on my computer and i get a black screen with GRUB with text like 'BASH like command editor is supported.' and then stuff about using TAB key for commands. then GRUB> prompting me to type commands, i have looked around but cant find any way of getting past this, i thought it may have been a problem with my install so i formatted and repeated but surely enough i am at the same GRUB screen.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, if any more information is need please tell me what you need and i will try to get it for you.
Thanks.

tr
07-08-2004, 08:55 PM
I turn on my computer and i get a black screen with GRUB with text like 'BASH like command editor is supported.' and then stuff about using TAB key for commands. then GRUB> prompting me to type commands.

That means you have a bash like prompt where you can type boot options. You should type the commands you need to boot your new installed Linux, eg.

kernel (hd0,0)/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.24-xfs root=/dev/hda1 rw vga=791