PDA

View Full Version : FAILURE DURING ALCATEL INSTALLATION - PLEASE HELP!!

Arran
07-09-2004, 08:15 PM
Hi, I am very new to linux and am in the process of trying to get my alcatel modem working so i can browse the web.

At this point I should probably tell you I am using the live cd of knoppix version 3.4,

I have copied and extracted the file:

speedtouchconf-19-06-2004.tar.gz

into my home directory, I have the copied the file :

mgmt.o

into the created directory speedtouchconf-19-06-2004.

I have then opened a shell window, changed from user to root with su command, then run :

sh speedtouchconf-19-06-2004.sh

I have then answered all the questions and away the installation goes, that is UNTIL !!!

/usr/bin/install: cannot create regular file `/usr/local/sbin/modem_run :
Read only file system

I have tried changing the file permission with

Root@TTYP1[local]# chmod a+w sbin

to which it says something along the lines of

changing user permissions of the file sbin : Read only file system

Getting very frustrating, I hope someone can help me with this problem I am pulling my hair out and cant find any info apart from the usual how to install $%& that I've been following.

Thanks for reading this massive problem

Arran :cry:

Ritchie
07-09-2004, 09:36 PM
Hi Arran

U say u are using the live cd if that is the case I am sorry but you cannot add software to the system while running the live cd version.

To add the software u either have to install to a hard drive and then add the software OR you can re-master the disk following the instructions available onthis site

ritchie

Arran
07-09-2004, 09:42 PM
many thanks, i have been dowinloading various torrent isos (full versions etc) and none of them after burning worked (ie installed) I really wanted to install it to a partition and have a dual o/s system, but have been unable to find a working full version.