PDA

View Full Version : Read only HD

Macrob
07-14-2004, 10:05 AM
:( As a total newbie I love Knoppix; so much that I now want it on my hard drive. I've tried numerous times to install on various hard drives, both blank and formatted from a previous Linux install, but each time when I get to the partioning section of the installl I end up with the following:

"Opened disk is read only - you have no permission to write" and I have to abort.

I haven't seen this problem listed on the Forum and I don't get the message when I install other distros eg. Mandrake, PC Linux, Cobind.

I really want Knoppix on my hard drive (no dual boot, just Knoppix) as it has everything I want. Please help this total newbie.

ghetto_blaster
07-14-2004, 01:51 PM
You need to change your hard-drive first to read write mode from the desktop. Click on the image of the hard-drive and uncheck read-only.

I got the same error after making the hard-drive read&write mode. I had to start terminal (at the bottom of the screen...black box icon) and from there type su and after that type sudo knoppix-installer on the screen.

Macrob
07-15-2004, 01:46 AM
:D Ghetto -blaster you're a genius. Problem solved thanks to an answer in words a newbie can understand. A simple problem but one which frusrated me to distraction.

I now have Knoppix on my hard drive and am now busy cofiguring it. Could I be pushy and ask one more question just so I can speed up the process?

How can a change the screen resolution - the task bar config. window is so large I can't see the Apply or OK buttons and resizing doesn't work either.

This Forum rocks and so does Knoppix.

ghetto_blaster
07-15-2004, 07:06 AM
Check here:

http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11722&highlight=screen+resolution