PDA

View Full Version : Need help. Im AFRAID

andy18
07-22-2004, 07:51 PM
Hello- Im a really really a newbie at this. Please bare with me.

I have had read every single article, docs, etc... and still Im confused.

If someone here could give me a detailed outline step-by-step on how to do this then I would appreciate it, really.

Currently, Im running Windows 2000 with a 34.00GB Hdd (NTFS) and I want to install Knoppix 3.4 on the hardrive. Its really annoying to pop in the CD every time I want to use Knoppix.

Now when knoppix 3.4 boots up what do I have to type? knoppix-install or knx-hdinstall? When the partitioning part comes up, do I need to use like P-Magic to create one or will this installer do everything for me like resizing and stuff like that??? That would be nice. Also, how would I create a boot loader in order to have an option of booting into Windows or Knoppix?

So please, I need like a detailed outline on how to set this up. At this point Im very scared of ruining my machine.

Thanks

j.drake
07-22-2004, 11:54 PM
Have you looked at partitioning and file systems yet? You know you can't install Linux to NTFS, right?

Search the forum for a thread started by a fellow with the screen name ruymbeke (I'd find it for you, but I have to leave on vacation in a few moments) He saved the Knoppix image to his NTFS drive as a file and booted it somehow with a bootloader that Windows understands. He signs off with the name Gilles. I had some posts in his thread also. Here it is http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=53357#53357 Essentially, it is very low risk for someone with limited linux experience, but gives really good functionality. The key is using the bootcodes "tohd" to copy the image to HD, and "fromhd" to reload from hd.