PDA

View Full Version : Can't get Knoppix 3.4 5-17-2004 ver. to boot from disk

queen2
07-23-2004, 05:02 AM
I downloaded the iso image to my harddrive (690MB took FOREVER even over DSL!). I got it from the perdue Knoppix mirror. Reputable. Running Windows XP Home.

I validated the MD5 hashes,
changed my boot sequence to check the CD first,
copied the iso to a cd-r...
When I reboot it checks the CD rom drive VERY quickly and then immediately boots to Windows XP Home.

It isn't the BIOS boot sequence. I checked. Do I have to DO something to the iso before burning it to cd or something? I thought I had read all the instructions and FAQs on the main Knoppix site.

What did I do wrong?

I am new to Linux and am trying to get Knoppix to work for a lab for an incident response course. Didn't want to overlay my current OS since it is the family computer. Ya know?

Help on how to get my CD to boot is MUCH APPRECIATED!
:D

j.drake
07-23-2004, 05:11 AM
copied the iso to a cd-r...

How did you do this? Most people do it wrong the first time. It's not a matter of drag, drop and burn a copy. If you have Nero or EZ CD creator, put the blank in, then double-click the ISO download file. The rest will happen automatically. Your use of the word "copy" leads me to suspect that you made the same mistake that many other people do the first time.

jd

queen2
07-23-2004, 05:22 AM
Yup...that is EXACTLY what I did...glad to hear it is a common mistake. I will try buring again...Knew I should have used a CD-RW dang it.

THanks for the quick response. I will come back if the problem recurs.

:D

queen2
07-23-2004, 05:38 AM
i did what you said and Windows couldn't figure out how to open it and nothing happened automatically. MS directed me to some webpages/software sites that could read my iso. I downloaded ISObuster and can veiw the contents of the CD now but I still don't see how to copy it to CD other than drag/drop. What did I miss?

queen2
07-23-2004, 05:49 AM