PDA

View Full Version : tohd problem

crix
07-26-2004, 10:25 AM
Hey people, I'm sorry if I am asking a lot of questions, but I am just really new to this Linux thing. Anyway, I tried doing a "poor man's install" by typing this at the boot prompt:

knoppix home=scan myconfig=scan tohd=/dev/hda5

I have already setup a PH and I know that one of the partitions of my HD is on hda5. But when I enter this and press return at the boot prompt, it just goes to a blank screen. It's usually blank then a penguin will come out and everything will start to load right? But what happens in my case is that it doesn't reach the point of showing the penguin. It just hangs right there at the blank screen.

Any help would deeply be appreciated.

Thank you very much.

crix
07-27-2004, 07:07 AM
Anybody?... :cry:

jd
08-25-2004, 10:43 AM
submit some detail, which you can gather by gentle use of the gnu tool named: fdisk ... Do not confuse this with the m$ executable which sports the same name. The latter only understands (& only works with) older m$ partitions, and will not help us divine what filesystem is lurking on your /dev/hda5

To get to a Linux shell (e.g: Terminal) session, as root, Boot your Knoppix cd with any bootflags which help you simply get the LiveCD session going. Nothing fancy.

To become root, use the command:
su -
and leave the password line blank [hit Enter]

You will want to learn to recognise that the prompt symbol is no longer a dollar{"$"}. The prompt now reflects that root is current user, with a Pound symbol in the prompt string {"#"} also called hatch, or tictac(toe).

Do as little as possible as root, and your life will be more fun.

Do as little as possible with fdisk, below, and your partition scheme will live through our little foray for info. Stray, even a bit, and it can all go pear-shaped quickly. Poof. Your whole hard disk. All data. Gone. All programs. Gone.

You have been warned.