PDA

View Full Version : D-Link DWL G520 & wlcardconfig

Adam!
07-28-2004, 02:00 PM
Good day all!

I've done alot of research through the forums to try and solve my problem before I needed to post, but I nothing has seemed to work! :)

I just recently purchsed a D-Link 624 wireless router along with a G520 wireless card and am trying to configure them to work in Knoppix.

After booting from the LiveCD, the card is deteted and becomes ath0. I am able to run wlcardconfig and I believe I must be doing something wrong.
I've tried my ESSID as default & dlink, WEP is disabled, I am not using a key and am running on ch. 6.

Now is the only information I should need to enter my ESSID? wlcardconfig asks for much more such as NVID, iwspy, etc, and as I'm very new to wireless cards, I'm not sure of what to enter.

I've tried many different settings with pump -i ath0 to no avail.

Might anyone have any experiences with the same wireless card? Perhaps you could post the configuration settings which abled your card to work?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Adam

tearinghairout
07-29-2004, 11:21 AM
Hi! Adam!
A quick google, and your report of ath0 seems to suggest that your card is using the Atheros chipset, so you should be able to use this card.
I have an Atheros based card and it seems to work okay, but I seem to have to manually kick it off each time I reboot. (maybe there is a way of getting to happen automatically, but I haven't had the time (couldn't be bothered) to research this yet).
What I do each time is - at a command line logged in as root:

ifconfig ath0 up
pump -i ath0

If you have an AP (your wireless router is one), and you are not using WEP, then I don't think it is necessary to enter any other parameters or configuration settings.

If this still doesn't work, then please post the output of ifconfig -a and iwconfig
THO

Adam!
07-30-2004, 03:13 AM