PDA

View Full Version : eht1 and samba

Nano19
07-30-2004, 01:58 PM
Hello World,

first of all Ihave to apologize for asking the following questions. I am sure that they occured a couple of thousand times before. However I would be very pleased if some of you guys could help.

Here we go.

As you might guess, I am a complete NewBee in Linux/Knoppix topics. I just changed my machine's OS to Knopix because it seems that there is no MS OS that can handle a multi-ethernet-interface computer properly and Linux is such a piece of heaven.

I installed Knoppix v3.3 on my Hard Disk using the knoppix-install script and told the script to generate an OS behaving like the CD.
My machine has two ethernet interfaces, where eth0 is configured to use DHCP and handle my internet connection via lan.
eth1 should be configured using a static IP in an additional lan.

Here comes the problem:
eth1 is configured at startup using DHCP as well. How can I change that? Now, I have to manually tell the system to use some other IP setings by clicking on that nice Penguin next to the KDE "K" in the lower left corner (I think the scrpt is calles netcardconfig or something.).

In addition to that, I would like to start samba sharing all the Drives on user level (which means, requesting username and password from the other machine and then grant access). At the moment, I need to start the server manually by typing "/etc/init.d/samba start" as root. How can this be done at startup?

Now, thank you again in advance for your help,

Basti

shah
08-01-2004, 11:23 AM
Nano19

You need to assign fixed ip address to your eth1, to achive this you need to edit your /etc/network/interface
add line something like this :
iface eth1 inet static
address 192.168.x.y
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.x.0
broadcast 192.168.x.255
* x,y = whatever you want

to start samba at boot time, run in root konsole:
update-rc.d samba defaults

Nano19
08-02-2004, 03:12 PM
Hey Shah,