PDA

View Full Version : Cant Get LILO to load

Billabong9305
08-03-2004, 10:38 AM
Well let me just take the time to say this Distro is amazing, so much so that I decided to install to my hdd. After the installation was complete, keep in mind is was successful, and that I have windows xp pro, but LILO will not boot up when I restart my computer, it automatically boots windows xp pro... ive been running Knoppix for sometime now, but Im not an expert in MBR or Dual Booting, so someone PLZ HELP ME!!! Thanks in advance...

landcruiser
08-03-2004, 11:41 AM
Fraid I have the same problem. After a few days playing with Knoppix decided to go for a HDD install on a newly built P4 3GHz 1GB RAM Radeon 9200 system. I have WinXP on one HDD and installed a second HDD for Linux. Installed OSL2000 as boot manager. Although the Knoppix HD install process seemed to run ok, there were some error messages at the end, like could not determine the display driver (I have to use module=radeon cheat code on CD boot).

Attempting to boot from the Linux HDD either results in a blank screen with a hanging cursor or the word GRUB. Hmmm..... must be time for lunch....... :?

Any clues folks?

Yuanlong
08-03-2004, 01:18 PM
Since its the first time you install I guess you choose the beginner mode during installation. If not mistaken, you have choose not to install lilo into master boot record(mbr). If so, you will have to configure it manually so that i takes control.
try using #lilo and reconfigure it.

landcruiser
08-03-2004, 02:11 PM