PDA

View Full Version : SB Live and US robotics modem not working...please help!

jamesgf
03-18-2003, 03:49 PM
Hello all, i am a noob at all of this linux stuff and first off id like to say im extremely impresseb by knoppix. It recognized all of my hardware correctly, but my sound and modem arent working. I have a PCI SB live sound card hooked to a boston speaker setup via digital out. My modem is a USR performance pro hardware PCI modem. Knoppix shows both of these on the PCI info but i couldnt get them to work. Said something about needing to be root? i dunno...

any help would be greatly appreciated,
thanks!
-jamie

my system: 1.4 P4 384 mb ram gforce 2

RockMumbles
03-18-2003, 09:00 PM
You will have to set up your modem manually, as pci modems use non-standard serial ports (usually /dev/ttyS4, Com5 in DOS terms), look in windows to see which serial port it is set up on and then set up the corresponding serial port in linux. Do some searching here or on google, you probably should have the actual modem model number handy.

As far as your SB-Live card, again you'll have to do some searching.

you'll have to use the sudo command from a terminal window in your X session to run a command as root, ex:

sudo sndconfig

to run the sound card configuration tool

or you could press <CTRL><ALT> <F2> to go to a root console and run root commands from there, then press <CTRL><ALT> <F5> to get back to your X session.

HTH

rock

jamesgf
03-18-2003, 10:48 PM
rock-

thanks alot for the info. Ive done some searching for my modem USR5610B and ill try what you have suggested. As far as the sound card goes, it may be as simple as my settings in kmix are off. When i try to play the demo music on the knoppix cd, i can see it playing on the player but hear nothing. Might be something simple, i hope.

thanks again,
-jamie

Dave_Bechtel
03-19-2003, 05:30 AM
--To get to Root from KDE:
1. Start the Konsole shell (icon has a computer screen with a seashell)
2. ' sudo bash '