PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix boot problem, need some help, warning I am a newb.

mike208
08-10-2004, 01:50 AM
Its actually not the offical knoppix CD, it is a slightly moddified version forun in the moving to linux, kiss the BSoD goodbye book. I had managed to get it to load a couple times, but have been doing some work on my system. I just installed a new MB, CPU and memory, and thus did a reinstall of XP. Now knoppix is very slow to load and doesn't even seem to finish booting.

I get the splash screen with the boot prompt, and can continue past that, then I get the screen with the penguin at the top left. I also get an error stating only one CPU found(my new board is a dual opteron board, with currently only one CPU)but I have gotten this and gone past it before). Then if I wait for quite a while I get some stuff saying something like "ide:scsi unsupported hard drisk request in the queue (0)" several times with a couple "IDE disk read failed"s mixed in.

If I wait quite a while longer it continues on to the colored text boot portion which it goes through till it gives me this
"Scanning for harddisk partitions and creating /etc/fstab....

I am not sure how long this should take, but I have left it there for like 5-10 minutes and it doesn't seem to finish.

Any help?

ZedroS
08-10-2004, 08:14 AM
I had quite the same error using a CDRW on some old pcs.

Apparently the CD ROM drive wasn't able to read properly my CDRW. Using a CDR it was working perfectly.

I hope it helps !

Cheers

pulsar
08-10-2004, 09:17 AM
Try using cheatcodes to boot. 'knoppix noapm', 'knoppix noapic', 'knoppix failsave'. See the cheatcodes list.

mike208
08-11-2004, 12:19 AM
Thanks for the info, here is a bit of an update. I have recently found out that it does actually boot, it just takes about an hour and a half to fully boot, and even them my mouse wasn't working, but that could have been something wrong on my end.