PDA

View Full Version : Lucent Orinoco gold card problems

Jberryman
08-10-2004, 09:23 PM
Hi everyone. I'm new to linux so bear with me. I've searched through the forums but haven't had much luck. I just got an Orinoco gold card from ebay, and I'm not sure what to call it, so I'll try to describe it as best I can:

The body of the card has "orinoco" on a purple background and a "wifi" logo and a gold and black strip on the side with the word "gold" in the black field of the strip on the right side of the strip. On the back I've got a lot of serial numbers etc. with "Lucent Technologies" on the top. Windows XP recognizes it and automatically uses a driver from 2001 called "wlluc48" if that helps.

Ok, so when I boot up knoppix 3.4 when it tries to load the Orinoco card I get something like:

cardmgr [92] 'Lucent Technologies'
cardmgr [92] modprobe 'Hermes'
cardmgr [92] modprobe 'Orinoco'

...and a couple other messages (something about eth0 and maybe something else), so that it appeared to recognize the card.
But then at the 'Autoconfigure Devices' stage I get partway through the green bars and spinny stick and then get the error messages:

cardmgr [92] + operation failed
cardmgr [92] start cmd exited with status 1

It then completes the loading. When I try to use Etherial the card doesn't show up as a source, and wlcardconfig says it doesn't see a wireless card.

Here is the output of 'lspci -v', I wasn't sure what exactly was relevant:
rface (rev 02)
Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer: Unknown device 0500
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
Memory at d0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=128M]
Capabilities: <available only to root>

0000:00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82865G/PE/P PCI to AGP Controller (rev 02)
(prog-if 00 [Normal decode])
Flags: bus master, 66MHz, fast devsel, latency 96
Bus: primary=00, secondary=01, subordinate=01, sec-latency=32
I/O behind bridge: 00003000-00003fff
Memory behind bridge: e8100000-e81fffff