PDA

View Full Version : dvdr boot (and other) problems

bl00mie
08-12-2004, 10:21 PM
i'm pretty new to linux, so forgive my newbie lack of understanding. anyway, here we go:

i'm in charge of a web-server at work. i'm trying to create an easy system-revcovery method, in case stuff breaks and i'm unavailable. i have a plextor px-708a dvd+-rw drive, that's eventually going to be used for backup-purposes.

anyway, after looking around for a while, i decided that it'd be pretty easy to add a tarball and a short set of instructions containing all my important stuff onto a re-mastered knoppix boot disc.

as a first step, i tried to just burn the knoppix 3.4 image to a dvd+r, since that's the only kind of media i have on hand right now.
i messed around a lot:
-i tried using growisofs with the -Z flag, but it didn't like that at all:

# growisofs -Z /dev/scd0=/path/to/knoppix34.iso
:-( unable to open64("0,0,0=/path/to/image",O_RDONLY): No such file or directory (which just is not true)

-i tried using cdrecord.prodvd, but couldn't get it to like the CDR_SECURITY key.... it always 'Alarm'ed out. so i eventually gave up.

every time i tried using cdrecord with the -doa flag, it complained about not being able to send the CUE sheet.

# cdrecord -v -eject -dao speed=1 dev=0,0,0 /path/to/knoppix34.iso
{normal-looking cdrecord stuff...}
cdrecord: WARNING: Data may not fit on current disk.
Starting to write CD/DVD at speed 62 in write mode for single session.
Performing OPC
Sending CUE sheet...
cdrecord: CUE sheet not accepted. Retrying with minimum pregapsize = 1.
cdrecord: Input/output error. send_cue_sheet: scsi sendcmd: noerror
CDB: 5D 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 20 00
cdrecord: Cannot send CUE sheed.
cdrecord: fifo had 64 puts and 0 gets.
cdrecord: fifo was 0 times empty and 0 times full, min fill was 100%

anyone know what that means, or what i might be doing wrong?