PDA

View Full Version : Network Card Problems - Help!!

carpie
03-19-2003, 06:12 PM
I'm a Knoppix newbie. I'm still learing a lot about it. I ran into trouble with my networt card. It's doesn't recognize it!! I try to install a driver for it, but there isn't any for my card. Through windows, the driver is for "HP EN1207D-TX PCI 10/100 Fast Ethernet Adapter." I was hoping there would be a generic driver, but I didn't see one. I tried a couple different ones from the list, but they didn't work either. I'm running this on an older HP machine. I'm going to be connected through DSL just for a little more info incase anyone can help me, which I hope someone can. I hope someone can help so I can learn a little more on here.

rickenbacherus
03-19-2003, 08:27 PM
Can't say for sure but when I used to use an HP NIC it used the eepro100 driver. You might try the eepro as well.

Loper
03-19-2003, 09:24 PM
Through windows, the driver is for HP EN1207D-TX PCI 10/100 Fast Ethernet Adapter
I posted on this a while back, so I'll just quote myself here:

This card uses a MX EN5038A1 chip, which (from a quick scan of Google) seems to be VERY poorly supported under ANY version of Linux. Shame on HP (even their own tech support admits it won't work under Linux). I had the same problem with an SMC TX-1211 card. You would think that brand-name hardware would "just work."

What I wound up doing was getting another network interface card (NIC). Fortunately, Knoppix LOVES the Realtek RTL8139 chip, and there are at least 2 common cards that use it: the D-Link DFE-530TX+ and the Encore ENL832-TX+. The D-Link card sells for about $12 (I got it free with my DSL kit), I bought the Encore card for $8. Both work equally well with my DSL modem and Knoppix; I would recommend them to anyone using Knoppix; it's my new "default" NIC. A bonus: the Encore drivers for Windows are newer.

Since then, I have seen other cards with this same Realtek chip for even less, and they work just as well.

carpie