PDA

View Full Version : can I install to second HD - other has XP? i'm a dummy!!

stuartc1
08-17-2004, 09:49 PM
Hi,

OK, im totally new to linux and have never installed it.

I currently run XP and have tried coLinux but had problems getting a network connection (I have a router). I have a spare HardDrive in my PC (x86) and would like to install Knoppix or Debian (are they the same?). I would have thought that since I have a DVD of knoppix and it runs like a dream with network working etc... that I could copy all these files to my free harddrive and away I go..... but I do not see any information on how to do this... I'm thinking it's not going to be that easy.

Please advise on how to install this on my second harddrive so I can boot to either XP or Linux.

Remember i'm new to linux (know a few basic commands) so nice easy help is what I need.

Please help :)

Regards,
Stuart

user unknown
08-17-2004, 10:28 PM
a) knoppix and debian aren't the same.
Knoppix is meant to be a boot-from-cd system, but knoppix is a debian-based system, afaik.
For installation I would suggest the debian.
Else you allways get the same hardware redetected, configuration-files overwritten etc.
If you have the same dvd as I have, one side has the knoppix-boot system, and the other the debian-install system.

If you're going to install the knoppix-system, there should be a hd-install or similar called script.

Perhaps you need to create a filesystem on the second hd fiirst.

robwelch100
08-17-2004, 11:30 PM
At the top of this web page are a series of tabs. One is labeled Docs. follow that page to install directions. Follow those directions for your install.