PDA

View Full Version : cannot access internet after changing hi-speed ISP

John3333
08-21-2004, 01:45 AM
I hope someone may be able to help me with a problem accessing the internet using Knoppix 3.4 running from a CD.
I'm a newbie to Linux, and when I downloaded this program a few months ago, my ISP was the local cable company. Knoppix configured my high-speed connection automatically when I booted it from the CD. In fact, I even posted a message on this forum expressing my delight and amazement at this.
Now, however, I have switched to a high-speed telephone ISP to access the internet (Bell Sympatico, in Canada).
Since the switch, I cannot access any internet pages using Knoppix.
When I boot from the CD, my internet connection is no longer configured automatically, as it was with the cable modem.
So I try to configure the connection using the configuration wizard (and following instructions in the Knoppix online tutorial, which I printed out). The wizard seems, I think, to do this properly. It reports, for example, that it has found 1 ethernet device(s) eth0, and an access concentrator on eth0, etc.
I continue through the configuration procedure, and tell the wizard to start the connection. But I cannot access any website. Whenever I try, I just get the message "An error occurred while loading http://www.xxxxxxxxx.com. Unknown host www.xxxxxxxxxx.com
If I open a root shell and type "pppstatus" (as suggested in the tutorial) it looks to me as if I am connected, as the little black screen lists my IP address; top speed (0.05KB/s); Active Interface (ppp0); received packets . . .etc. . .
If, in the root shell, I type in "poff" I get the message "/usr/bin/poff: More than one pppd running and no -a option and no arguments supplied. Nothing stopped." I don't know what this really means (told you I was a newbie) so don't know if it is related to my problem or not.
If I type "pon dsl-provider" or "plog" in the root shell, nothing happens.