PDA

View Full Version : Unable to run Knoppix

amiskwia
08-21-2004, 07:06 PM
Hello!!! I'm a completely new user to the linux world, so I have no knowledge about the system. I have a laptop running Windows XP Home Edition but it now refuses to boot. Therefore I downloaded Linux Knoppix 3.4 to try and rescue some of my data. The CD boots with no problem but after detecting the hardware and showing something like a splash-screen it goes back and finishes saying

X-Window session terminated with erors.
Please check and retry '/etc/init.d/xsession start'.

Could someone guide me through some way of fixing this and being able to run Knoppix??
I am very thankful for your help.
Thank you much.

firebyrd10
08-22-2004, 03:43 AM
try knoppix testcd, it may just be a bad burn.

eco2geek
08-22-2004, 08:46 AM
More likely, if you get all the way through to the X server starting, it's not a bad burn. The problem's that Knoppix isn't automatically configuring XFree86 correctly for either the video card (a driver problem) or the monitor (usually a vsync or hsync rate problem).

Since the X server actually quits on you, I could be wrong but I'd guess it's a driver problem. Especially since you have a laptop which may have an esoteric chipset.

After X quits, the reason why it quit may be explicitly displayed on screen. If not, take a look at /var/log/XFree86.0.log -- errors are marked "EE". If you can find and fix the error in your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file (that's the configuration file for the X server), save it, then restart X with the command "init 5".

Also remember that you can explicitly tell Knoppix which video card driver and refresh rate(s) to use with cheatcodes (see "knoppix-cheatcodes.txt" on the CD for more info).

If you do (hopefully) get it going after editing XF86Config-4, you can save your configuration files (Knoppix menu > Configure > Save Knoppix configuration), and Knoppix will save your modified XF86Config-4 for future use.