PDA

View Full Version : Insall problems

Tim Novak
08-30-2004, 11:32 PM
I am a newbie to this forum and am asking for help in a hard drive install. I am using a ECS laptop for Knoppix, it has 128 megs of ram with a 20 gig hd and a windoze partition. I used Partition Magic to create the partitions (400 meg swap and a 9 gig ext3) and to format them I used the default setting for the partitions. My problem is that when I complete the first part of the install (the information stage) and get to the program install where the HD is formatted I get errors and it will not format the partitions. I have tried a new image with no sucess. I can use "cfdisk" to see the partitions. The CD with knoppix will run fine on this PC it finds all of the hardware with the exception of the AMR modem. Can any one help with this problem.

baldyeti
08-30-2004, 11:35 PM
Could you tell us a little more about those error messages you're seeing, please? And maybe also show us the output of "fdisk -l" as issued from the live-cd.

mzilikazi
08-31-2004, 02:04 AM
I used Partition Magic to create the partitions (400 meg swap and a 9 gig ext3) and to format them I used the default setting for the partitions.

Repeat after me:

Partition magic bad! cfdisk good! :lol:

I am not a PM user so I may be wrong but I'm guessing you have no linux swap. How to find out?

$ free -m|grep Swap

How to make a swap file?

mkswap /dev/hda2
swapon /dev/hda2

Check it again now:

$ free -m|grep Swap

Got swap? Yeah? Try the installer.
Of course.........I could be crazy.....

Tim Novak
08-31-2004, 05:41 AM
Baldyeti, this is what I copied from fdisk "clinders set @ 2432 larger that 1024."
The error I get in the formatting is "formatting of failed. some messages from mkfs. ext3: usage: mkfs. ext3 [-cl-tl-l filename] [-b block-size] [-f fragment-size] [-i byts-per-inode] [-j journal-options] [-n number-of-inodes] [-m reserved-blocks] [-o creator-os] [-g ." This is verbatem what comes up in the diolog box.