PDA

View Full Version : Non-detection of sound card and Network adapter

jonwood
03-21-2003, 09:57 PM
Just tried Knoppix for the first time. I think its great.

Only problem was that it didnt correctly detect my sound or network cards. As I am completely new to Linux I havn't a clue what to do next. I have successfully duel booted the same computer with Windows 2K and Red Hat (no problems with the sound or network cards)

The network card is a Realtek RTL 8139(A) PCI (SMC1233TX) fast ethernet adapter, and the sound card a Creative SB Audio PCI (Esoniq ES5880 Audi chipset).

Any help would be greatfully received.

rickenbacherus
03-24-2003, 01:26 AM
Become root;

su
<give it the password>

netcardconfig

Then do a:

sndconfig

jonwood
03-24-2003, 09:59 AM
When tried using "netcardconfig" i got "No Supported Network Cards Found".

However, I've discovered the cause of the problem. Knoppix does not like it when your devices share IRQ 9 as mine did. When I reassigned the network and sound cards to IRQ 5 and 7 in the BIOS, it all worked fine. :D

rickenbacherus
03-24-2003, 01:50 PM
However, I've discovered the cause of the problem. Knoppix does not like it when your devices share IRQ 9 as mine did. When I reassigned the network and sound cards to IRQ 5 and 7 in the BIOS, it all worked fine. :D

Very true- Linux hates IRQ conflicts and they seem to be fairly common. Glad you got it solved. BTW- the options vary from BIOS to BIOS but there is generally a way to disable the automatic assigning of IRQ's and 'hard assign' them as necessary. Glad you got it fixed jonwood

Bobmeister
03-24-2003, 04:37 PM