PDA

View Full Version : Where do I locate new programs

teddyballgame20
09-04-2004, 03:23 PM
Let me start by saying that I'm very new at this...This is my first shot at linux so I guess you could say I'm a noob...I just did a HD install of Knoppix and it is the only operating system on the dirve...I just downloaded Firefox and installed it and my question is after I install it how do I find it to use it again...I know in Windows I there would be an icon on the desktop but is there an equivalent to this for linux...I'd appreciate anyones help on this one and if there's a FAQ could someone point me to it

firebyrd10
09-04-2004, 05:25 PM
Let me start by saying that I'm very new at this...This is my first shot at linux so I guess you could say I'm a noob...I just did a HD install of Knoppix and it is the only operating system on the dirve...I just downloaded Firefox and installed it and my question is after I install it how do I find it to use it again...I know in Windows I there would be an icon on the desktop but is there an equivalent to this for linux...I'd appreciate anyones help on this one and if there's a FAQ could someone point me to it
Depends on how you installed it.

If you used apt-get (Or kpackage) then it should be on the menu in its equivilent folder.

BTW knoppix is based on the unstable Cid, you will run into problems while trying to install programs.

Mabye you would like sarge (tesing, about to be stable) or woody (stable).

If so, go here http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/dists/sarge/main/installer-i386/current/images/netboot/ and download mini.iso, burn it, reboot.

mzilikazi
09-04-2004, 08:34 PM

If you downloaded the tarball then presumably you stored it in your /home/username directory. SO...you probably have a firefox-installer directory and inside there is the executable called 'firefox'.

If you issue:

/home/username/firefox-installer/firefox