PDA

View Full Version : Linux may be losing this average Jill

nishtya
09-10-2004, 03:17 AM
http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=59647#59647

To get cable up and running the score:
Windows 98SE - five minutes (includes reboot but not including time to find mobo CD)
Linux - 4 hours, burnt dinner and a pounding headache

I can no longer imagine I am going to be able to network this PC and my other without heavy duty tranquilization. The thought of throwing a router into this mix and another computer with a different nic and a different distro. YIKES. Not to mention I am toying with the idea of wireless so I don't have to fish a wall? I don't think I can do what needs to be done in linux, I have been messing about with linux for quite a few months now but there is no way I think I am going to be able to do this. In my wildest nightmares, how many hours (or days?) will it take me to network?

CrashedAgain
09-10-2004, 04:12 AM

Windows 98SE - five minutes (includes reboot but not including time to find mobo CD)

I can no longer imagine I am going to be able to network this PC and my other without heavy duty tranquilization. The thought of throwing a router into this mix and another computer with a different nic and a different distro. YIKES. Not to mention I am toying with the idea of wireless so I don't have to fish a wall? I don't think I can do what needs to be done in linux, I have been messing about with linux for quite a few months now but there is no way I think I am going to be able to do this. In my wildest nightmares, how many hours (or days?) will it take me to network?

It appears from your other post that you now have your netcard working (I think). The router should be easy, at least in my case it just worked, I didn't have to set up anything. I don't have wireless, I have seen some posts that indicate it may not be so easy.