PDA

View Full Version : Installing Knoppix on a computer with Winxp already on it.

sethosayher
09-10-2004, 03:20 AM
I'm a newbie to LInux. Basicly, WINXP hasn't been working correctly, and I want to use knoppix to, in a way, replace it.

I'm new around partions and such, and i' sure i'll mess up the process somehow. I don't want to delete WinXp for various reasons, instead I want to have a dual boot system with Knoppix and Windows.

WinXP is already installed, and I have about 20 gigs of space left. Can someone give me some pointers for this?

Garibaldi
09-10-2004, 03:32 AM
what is your filesystem? Is it ntsf or fat32. If its fat32, you are in luck. If its ntsf, you will have to use a program (there are some listed at the bottom of the "docs" page) to syphine off some of that 20 gigs, probably between 5 and 10 gigs for your install, depending on what you want to do. For the different types of installs, see the docs section also. To install in the least amount of space, you can run knoppix from the cd but be able to keep your settings, files, and install new programs. All you have to do is create a persistent home file and save an configuration file. Then when knoppix first boots you will get a screen where you can enter boot cheats. Type: knoppix home=scan myconfig=scan. That will do it for you. For more details, see the docs section, or just ask, I'm happy to help.

dobell
09-10-2004, 12:18 PM
Hi:

well, I have been able to intall knoppix using winxp and resizing the partitions without problem.

when knoppix has started from cd, you have to open konsole and then type:

#su
#knoppix-installer