PDA

View Full Version : Sound Card Problems - SoundMax Cadenza (Intel 810)

innerspace
09-15-2004, 04:03 AM
Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie when it comes to Linux. I've fiddled around with Red Hat a few times, but I've barely scratched the surface. My knowledge of the command line is pretty weak. So...

I'm running knoppix 3.6 (kernel v. 2.4.xx) from a cd on the following system:

P4 2.53GHz
Intel D845PEBT2 MOBO
512MB DDR333
SoundMax Cadenza Audio Chipset (Intel810)

On initial boot, I could run xmms and play an mp3. The file would play, but there would be no sound. So I rebooted and entered the following arguments at the command-line:
"knoppix alsa" to boot with alsa drivers.

post msg's indicate the card is an Intel810 AC97 (which is correct, I believe)

I then opened up the KDE Control Center to change the drivers to ALSA.

After hitting "Apply" I recieved the following error:

"Sound server informational message:
Error while initializing the sound driver:
device: default can't be opened for playback (No such file or directory)
The sound server will continue, using the null output device."

A friend attempted to help me today, and we got close, the modules were installed, but we needed to reboot, and thats where things get even more complicated.

The system hosting my knoppix install is a Windows XP Pro system with three hard-disks, all containing NTFS partitions. I realize knoppix cannot write to NTFS Partitions, and that Capture NTFS will allow knoppix to utilize the .ntfs drivers residing in my XPPro install. So I ran Capture NTFS to try and create a Persistent KNOPPIX Home Directory on my harddrive. A minute or two into the scan, Capture NTFS closes with no message.