PDA

View Full Version : running from CD - win98

chrisblack
09-16-2004, 03:33 PM
I'm a total newbie to linux - I burned knoppix (3.4) - 'cos I wanted to try out a linux based OS and it says it runs from CD - so I assume that if the knoppix cd isn't in the cdrom, then my pc will just boot into windows98.

Before I go ahead and boot from cd - is this correct, or does knoppix actually write to the HD, thus stopping me from running win98??

Thanks

Chris

UnderScore
09-16-2004, 04:29 PM
We have plenty of documentation & help available on this site. I believe your question is answered in "FaqGeneral".
http://www.knoppix.net/docs/

- FaqGeneral - Who, what, why etc.
- FaqDownloading - Downloading and burning Knoppix
- FaqBooting --- FAQ about the Knoppix booting process.
- FaqUsing - Using Knoppix
- FaqHardware - Hardware support and autodetection. The use of CheatCodes.
- FaqUSBBased - FAQ about booting from an USB Flash Memory.
- FaqInstall - FAQ about installing Knoppix on Hard disk
- FaqRescue - Using Knoppix as a rescue disk (filesystems supported: httpNTFS ?)
- FaqNetwork - Network and dialup configuration (ETH, ISDN, ADSL, etc...)
- FaqPXE - How to use the network boot feature (network terminal server) on Knoppix.
- FaqSambaQuick - Sharing your files via the Microsoft Windows Networking (SMB) protocol
- FaqFTP - How to setup FTP/ssh from the Knoppix CD
- FaqNewQuestions - Add new questions, answers or move them to the real FAQs
- FaqError - Error messages
- FaqCustomising - Customising Knoppix by remastering
- FaqKnoppixEmu - How to run Knoppix in an x86 emulation environment

OErjan
09-16-2004, 05:19 PM
should work fine. and yes when you remove CD it wil not have left anything you have not alowed to be left (like if you ave created a persistent home or a swapfile...)

moustache
09-16-2004, 07:12 PM
Don't worry chrisblack! Have some faith in humanity.
Knoppix wont touch your hard drive or your windows installation.