PDA

View Full Version : Router config woes

nishtya
09-18-2004, 11:07 PM
This problem occurs in both windows and Linux (kanotix, mepis, take your pick) in both MSIE under windows and mozilla in windows and linux. I cannot bring up the router configuration utility in the browser. I type in the ip address in the instructions and it always times out. It must be something simple but I am a networking newbie. For what it's worth, everything is working fine without configuring but hey, I should be able to get to the utility. It is a linksys 4 port cable/dsl router, NOT wireless. Help appreciated.

mzilikazi
09-19-2004, 02:10 AM
Can you pingthe router i.p. provided in the instructions? If not Try to find the router on your network with nmap. For example:

# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:08:C7:77:54:93
inet addr:192.168.254.2

So with this range of i.p. address in mind we might try something like this:

# nmap 192.168.254.*

Starting nmap 3.55 ( http://www.insecure.org/nmap/ ) at 2004-09-18 19:08 M
Host 192.168.254.0 seems to be a subnet broadcast address (returned 1 extr
s). Still scanning it due to ping response from its own IP.
Interesting ports on 192.168.254.0:
(The 1658 ports scanned but not shown below are in state: closed)
PORT STATE SERVICE
80/tcp filtered http
515/tcp filtered printer
MAC Address: 00:C0:02:CD:40:8E (Sercomm)

Interesting ports on 192.168.254.2:
(The 1653 ports scanned but not shown below are in state: closed)
PORT STATE SERVICE
9/tcp open discard
13/tcp open daytime
22/tcp open ssh
23/tcp open telnet
37/tcp open time
538/tcp open gdomap
631/tcp open ipp

Interesting ports on 192.168.254.254:
PORT STATE SERVICE
80/tcp filtered http
515/tcp filtered printer

Host 192.168.254.255 seems to be a subnet broadcast address (returned 1 ex
ngs). Still scanning it due to ping response from its own IP.
Interesting ports on 192.168.254.255:
PORT STATE SERVICE
80/tcp filtered http
515/tcp filtered printer