PDA

View Full Version : Problems with hard drive access permissions

willkill69
09-21-2004, 06:50 PM
I am trying to install GRUB to my MBR using a shell in Knoppix in order to get my SUSE install to work. I ran the command:

grub-install /dev/hda

but the following error message came up:

mkdir: cannot create directory '/boot/grub' : read only filesystem.

Please help, someone on another forum told my I had to change the access permitions for the drive and I do not know how to do this. BTW: I am a quite a noob, I have only got linux working once before on a single partition, I have never got it to dual boot with window$ xp before.

UnderScore
09-21-2004, 08:12 PM
First check the grub-install man page at http://www.fifi.org/doc/grub-doc/html/grub_16.html. Maybe it will help you.
Try the following in a root shell to help get around the read-only error:

mount /mnt/hda3

chroot /mnt/hda3 /bin/bash
where hda2 represents your linux / partition. In my pc hda1 is windowsXP, hda2 is swap and hda3 is linux / so I would use hda3.
Then try your grub-install /dev/hda command. To get out of the chroot, type exit or use the key combo CTRL-D.

I hope this helps.
James

willkill69
09-21-2004, 08:27 PM
Thanks james, I will try that. My hard drive is partitioned that way as well, with windows xp as hda1 and linux hda3 with the swap partition hda2. I will look at the link as well. In linux do you have to have the swap file in a seperate partition because in windows it is just a file in the root drive (C:\)
??

mzilikazi
09-21-2004, 08:34 PM
I am trying to install GRUB to my MBR using a shell in Knoppix in order to get my SUSE install to work. I ran the command:

grub-install /dev/hda

but the following error message came up:

mkdir: cannot create directory '/boot/grub' : read only filesystem.