PDA

View Full Version : Automate KDM at startup

regday
09-25-2004, 05:18 PM
As a total newbie to Linux I tried the Knoppix CD and was sufficiently impressed to trash an old Win2000 system and do an install to harddisk. I installed Knoppix via the knoppix-installer but it threw up some error message right near the end and black-screened almost immediately so I couldn't read them, or for that matter do anything about it. I repeated the installation but the same happened again so I rebooted minus the CD just in case and to my surprise up came a commandline interface. I logged in as root and ran KDM. Everything seemed ok apart from the login buttons being in what appeared to be some foreign script but hitting enter got me into the KDE environment and I've been able to successfully setup my major apps. However, I would really like to automatically start the KDM login.

I've been reading a lot of Linux material, much at this stage reading like a foreign language, and think the /etc/init.d/xdm script is the key(and I guess login as root to edit it?), but don't know how to modify this to run KDM, can someone please help(I'll happily post my current file if necessary). Feel free to tell me I've got it hopelessly wrong as long as you can offer a solution!

Reg

Markus
09-25-2004, 05:35 PM
You could check /etc/inittab to see if runlevel 5 (graphical) is the default, should have a line like:
# The default runlevel.
id:5:initdefault:
Also check /etc/rc5.d to see if KDM is started, you don't need XDM, you should have a line like:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13 Apr 28 19:58 S99kdm -> ../init.d/kdm
If not, do: update-rc.d kdm defaults
BTW, you can remove XDM with: update-rc.d -f xdm remove

That said, you should boot the CD with the testcd cheatcode to see if it's ok, the installer could have left you with an incomplete install. Try installing from Ctrl-Alt-F1 instead of doing it from a GUI.

regday
09-25-2004, 06:28 PM