PDA

View Full Version : Advantages of HDD install

teckjunkie
09-28-2004, 03:42 PM
I'm still relatively new to this and I can't find what I'm looking for.

* I have a 25Gig Partition set aside for Knoppix so space is not an issue.

What are the advantages of installing knoppix 3.7 and downloading lots of packages over:

Installing Knoppix 3.4 DVD and running 'apt-get update' and 'apt-get upgrade'... wouldn't it upgrade all packages??

Also my laptop is a P4 so can I just download a new i686 kernel and everything goes faster I never understood that. (also what is the difficulty level of that on 1 to 10)

Superstoned
09-28-2004, 05:23 PM

What are the advantages of installing knoppix 3.7 and downloading lots of packages over:

Installing Knoppix 3.4 DVD and running 'apt-get update' and 'apt-get upgrade'... wouldn't it upgrade all packages??

Also my laptop is a P4 so can I just download a new i686 kernel and everything goes faster I never understood that. (also what is the difficulty level of that on 1 to 10)

dont use knoppix for a permanent install. use debian's own installer (now being tested). I'd say wait for the next debian stable version (whould be before the end of the year. or use the testing installer (which installs debian-sarge).

why? because knoppix isnt fully debian compliant. because it is meant as live-cd, not installation cd. you might also use kanotix (which is knoppix, but meant for hdinstall) or mephis (nice, userfriendly knoppix/debian based system).

good luck

vincev
09-28-2004, 08:39 PM
So, as knoppix isn't good for a hd isntall of 3.4 and 3.6(3.4 worked better...and I did the sudo knoppix-installer thing--that's what I am trying to work with),
it brings up some questions for me:

how would I transfer the following configurations to kanoptix (and option mentioned by someone) or some other Knoppix-clone that is Debian compliant and safe/goodtogo for hd install:

-kmail
-openoffice
-mozilla;mail and browser

and if I didn't go to kanoptix