PDA

View Full Version : please help me with CD booting issues

econobeing5
10-02-2004, 02:53 AM
i'm really new to linux, REALLY new. the reason i decided to try and get a CD bootable version was because i'm taking a mandatory UNIX introduction class right now, and it mentions Linux a bit along the way. i've always known that you could boot certain versions of Linux from a CD, so i decided to try it out.

i burned KNOPPIX to a CD by using nero and selecting "burn disc image" selected the .iso and burned it.

but when i restart my computer to have it boot from the CD, it will show a KNOPPIX image, tell me to hit F2 or F3 for help/options, or hit enter to start. when i hit enter it shows some stuf on screen real quick, the same kind of text that scrolls when you start a computer, the "ram check ok" type messages. after that stuf scrolls, it goes to a black screen and sits there, forever.

i have tried a live Linux CD boot with Damn Small Linux too, and it does the same thing, goes to a black screen and sits.

i dont know what any of the options mean when i hit F2, so i dont want to mess with them.

am i supposed to do something before i try to boot it from the CD? like add a file to a certain folder while still in windows, then reboot. because all i did was burn the CD, restart the computer, and try to load it.

kind of a long message, but i wanted to describe exactly what is happening, please help :(

rrfish72
10-02-2004, 03:16 AM
try knoppix testcd at the F2 prompt. Then after that try some cheatcodes.
knoppix lang=us nodma noapci alsa .... ......for example.

econobeing5
10-02-2004, 03:21 AM
i TRIED using some cheatcodes, but don't know if i did them right, i typed a couple of em in like

knoppix nodma
knoppix noapci

is that how you type them, because it didn't say it was bad syntax or anything.

which cheat codes should i try, and where can i find them?

econobeing5
10-02-2004, 03:31 AM